Newsletter 20
Spring 2008
Updated on 22May2008
AIAA Honours Dunsfold
Annual General Meeting
Book Review
Doctorate for John Farley
Dunsfold and Brookland Events
First Hunter
Flying Hawker Aircraft
Future of Naval Aviation
Hawk News
John Dale
Joint Strike Fighter News
Museum for Dunsfold
Remembering the P.1083
Sea Harrier News
V/Stol Award for Ralph Hooper

Published by the Hawker Association
for the Members.
Copyright © 2008. All rights reserved Hawker Association
News of Members    
We welcome new members Mike Bowery, Capt. Eric Brown, Paul Fairweather, Richard Hooke, Stanley Lawson and Martin Murray.

Sadly we must record the deaths of John Dale and Arthur West; the Association sends condolences to their families and friends.  

If you know any 'Hawker' people who are not members, please tell them about the Association. Especially welcome are Production and Commercial people as they are under-represented at present.

Names only are given for legal reasons. If you wish to write to a Member put your letter in a plain stamped envelope and send it to the Editor who will forward it for you.

A: Mike Adams(A), Ken Alexander, Peter Alexander, John Allen, Martin Alton, Terry Anstey, Alma Apted, Steve Apted, John Arthur, Alan Auld, Bryan Austin, Mike Azzopardi, .

B: Brenda Bainbridge, Colin Balchin, Ambrose Barber, Paul Barber, Ray Barber, Derek Barden, Peter Barker, Geoff Barrett, Graham Bass, Ken Batstone, Dennis Baxter, Colin Bedford, Anne Beer, Guy Black (A), John Blackmore, Keith Bollands, Paul Boon, Betty Bore, Pat Bott, Steve Bott, Bob Bounden, Mike Bowery, Alan Boyd, Pat Boyden, Phil Boyden, Roy Braybrook, Clive Brewer, Laurie Bridges, Ian Brine, Doug Britton, Arthur Brocklehurst(a), Capt. Eric Brown, Peter Brown, Ron Bryan, Reg Burrell, Robin Burton, Christopher Budgen, Maurice Budgen, Roy Budgen, George Bunt

C: Bert Callan, Richard Cannon, Maurice Carlile, Chris Carter, Bob Catterson, Ken Causer, Jeremy Cawthorne, John Chacksfield, Colin Chandler, Keith Chapman, Keith Chard, Gerry Clapp, JF Clarke, John Cockerill, Hank Cole(a), Bob Coles, Percy Collino, Brian Coombes, David Cooper, Paul Cope, Patricia Cosgrove, Ron Cosgrove, George Cotterell, Nick Cox, Shirley Craig, John Crampton, Tony Cripps(a), Russ Culley, Richard Curtis.

D: Roger Dabbs, Clive Dalley, Andy Dalton, John Danse, Afandi Darlington, John Davie, Jo Davies, Ken Davies, Philippa Davies, Trevor Davies, Charles  Davis(a), Diana Dean, Ralph Denning(A), Norman Deviell, Mike Diprose, Richard Dobbs, Mike Dodd, Colin Dodds, Lambert Dopping-Heppenstal, Jack Dowson, Brian Drew, Peter Drye, Dick Duffel, Jean Duffel, Gwen Duke(H), Chris Dunhill, Mike Dyke.

E: John Eacott, John Eckstein, Andy Edwards, Dave Edwards, Barry Elliot, Tony Elliott, Eric Ellis(H), Celia Evans, Norman Evans, Roy Evans, Frank Ewen.

F: Russ Fairchild, Paul Fairweather, Ian Falconer, Mike Fantham, Chris Farara, John Farley, John Farrow, Max Fendt, Stan Field(a), Geoff Fieldus, Mike Finlay, Wilf Firth, Anne Fletcher, Richard Fletcher, Colin Flint, Dave Fowler, Mike Frain, Harry Fraser-Mitchell, Geoff French, Mike French, Heinz Frick.
G: Roy Gaff, Mike Gane, John Gardner, Patricia Gardonio, Peter Gates, Sandie Gear(H), Tim Gedge(A), Mark Gerrard, Tony Gibbs, John Gilbert, John Glasscock, Pat Goodheart, Eric Goose, John Gough, Andy Green, John Green, Barry Grimsey.

H: David Hassard, Douglas Halloway, Clive Handy, Liz Hargreaves, Simon Hargreaves, Bryan Harman, Dawn Harris, Guy Harris, Thelma Harris, Brian Harvie, David Hastie, Norman Hayler, Eric Hayward, Bob Head, Sheila Hemsley(H), Keith Hertzenberg, Jock Heron (A), Tony Herring(a), Keith Hertzenberg(a), Frederick Hewitt, Merlin Hibbs, Richard Hickey, Peter Hickman, Vince Higbee(a), Reg Hippolite, Keith Hobbs, Chris Hodson, Gordon Hodson, Derek Holden, Doc Holliday, Richard Hooke, Ralph Hooper, Linda Hopkins, Paul Hopkins, Jean Hopper, Mike Hoskins, Gerry Howard, Dawn Howes, Terry Howes, Simon Howison, Gordon Hudson, Gavin Hukin.

I: Pete I'Anson, John Ieronymides, Len Illston, Maive Impey, David Ince (A), Brian Indge.

J: Keith Jackman, John Janes, Gordon Jefferson, David Jelley, Harry Johnson, John Johnson, Brian Jones,  Ian Jordan, Trevor Jordan, Robin Jowit, Alf Justin.
Hawker Association Members - April 2008

Classes of Membership
Associate Members (a service has been rendered to the Association) are identifyed with (A) after the name, Associates (worked closely  with the company) with (a) and Honorary with (H).

Additions to the list since January 2008 are in Blue.

This list will be updated in each Newsletter. Please let the editor know if there are any spelling mistakes or incorrect first names.

   If you still owing subs for 2006-2007 it's only a fiver to renew! Please send your  £5 cheques, payable to the Hawker Association, to Barry Pegram at 12 Becket Wood, Newdigate, Surrey, RH5 5AQ. Go on; do it now! Thank you

K: Brian Kent, Dennis Ketcher, Bill King, Dave King, Martin King, Charles Kirk.

 L: Barry Laight, Mike Laker, Charles Lamb, Richard Lane, George Latham, Paul Latham, Pam Lawrence, Andrew Lawson, Stanley Lawson, Ron Leader, Geoff Lee, Gordon Lewis(A), Mark Lewis, Vernon Lidstone, Gary Lillistone, Andrew Lloyd, Gary Lockley, David Lockspeiser, Norman Long, Gordon Lorrimer, David Lovell, Lynda Lucas.

M: Albert Magee, Al Mahoon, Mick Mansell, John Marsh, Bill Marshall, Ann Martin/Disspain/Turk,  Dennis Mason, Brian Maton, Don McGovern(a), June McKeon, Ronald Mears, Mike Mendoza, Jim Middleton, Buffy Milford(H), Robert Millar, Jack Mills, Brian Monk, Pat Moon(H), Leslie Moore, Pauline Moore, Pat Moran, Nicholas Morland, Pete Munday, Carole Murphy, Gloria Murphy(H), Martin Murray.

N: Anthea Newman, Jennifer Nicholas.

O: Roger O'Brien-Hill, John O'Sullivan, Robin Owen.

P: Les Palmer, Glynne Parker, John I Parker, John L Parker, John Partridge, Bernard Patrick, John Pearce, Barry Pegram, Martin Pennell, Bill Phillips, Ted Pincombe, Dick Poole, Don Pratt, Dave Priddy, Mike Pryce(A).

Q: John Quinn.

R: Clive Radley, Frank Rainsborough, Raharto(a), Colin Raisey, Brian Ralton, Paul Rash, Diane Raymond, Vanessa Rayner{H}, Douglas Reallf, David Rees, Peggy Remmington, Francis Rhodes, Geoff Richards, Bill Richardson, Chris Roberts, John Rodd, Graham Roe(a), Elizabeth Ruscoe-Pond(H), Chris Russell, Peter Ryans.

S: Helen Sadler, Roger Samways, Ian Sandell, Bernie Scott, Alex Seaman, Ray Searle, Maurice Shakespeare (Associate), George Smith, Mike Sharland, Arthur Sharpe, Bill Sherwood, Douglas Shorey, Peter Sibbald, Jack Simmonds, Sadie Simmonds, Duncan Simpson, Derek Sims, Gerry Sims, Charles Smith, Don Smith, Harold Smith, John Smith, Karl Smith, Pete Smith, Selwyn Smith, Roy Sparrow, Peter Spragg, Vivian Stanbury(H), June Stephens(H), John Strange, Carroll Stroud, Mike Stroud, Christine Strudwick, Tony Strudwick, Douglas Stubbs, Bill Swinchatt.

T: Brian Taylor, David Taylor, Stuart Taylor, Brian Tei, Reginald Thompson, Geoff Tomlinson, Graham Tomlinson, Terence Tompkins, Rod Tribick, Peter Trow, Ron Trowell, Frank Tuck, Bert Turner, Michael Turvey.

U: John Underhill.

V: Herbert Valk.

W: Terry Walker, David Ward, John Webb, Harry Webb, Patrick Webb, Graham Weller, Rob Welsh, Bryan West, Judith Westrop, Jenny Wheatley, Phil Wheatley, Jan White, Mick White, Roy Whitehead, Peter Whitney, Annette Williams, Don Williams, John S Williams, Ron Williams, Sally Williams(H), Colin Wilson, George Wilson, Paul Wilson, Dick Wise, Helen Woan, George Woods, Trevor Woods, Len Woodward, Alan Woolley.

George Smith